Psychologists’ Division of APEX

The Psychologists’ Division of APEX represents psychologists working in District Health Boards as well as educational psychologists working for the Ministry of Education.

In District Health Boards our members work in a diversity of settings including:

  • Community and outpatient mental health.
  • Inpatient and forensic mental health units.
  • Physical health (i.e. oncology, spinal, diabetes).
  • Child and adolescent mental health.
  • Rural mental health services.
  • Addiction services.
  • Older persons health.
  • Intellectual disabilities.

Within the Ministry of Education, psychologists work within schools to identify and treat the various behavioural, learning and developmental difficulties children may have.

Expert Representation

APEX provides expert representation and assistance to psychologists who have employment problems related to their conditions of work or professional issues. Get in touch with your delegate for employment issues in the first instance.

Evidence-based Secondary Treatment to Reduce Suicide in NZ – September 2019

Evidence indicates that more specialist, secondary, evidence-based psychological treatments are required to reduce the number of suicides in New Zealand. Read the report here.

Collective Bargaining

All members working for District Health Boards are on our Multi-Employer Collective Agreement. The MECA allows us to bargain directly with the employer specifically around the issues that matter to our profession. The last round of bargaining secured over $1 million worth of Continuing Professional Development funds each year for our members.

A Voice for the Profession

Psychologists face a number of opportunities and challenges including growing demand for their services and increased recognition of the importance of talking therapies in both physical health and educational settings. However, resourcing of the profession is failing to keep up with demand for psychological services.

APEX Submission to Government Inquiry into Mental Health and Addiction

Guidelines for Caseloads at the Ministry of Education

Interim Guidelines for Caseloads for Psychologists at the Ministry of Education

Merit Progression Application

Download the template

Psychology MECA Implementation: Process and Progress:

As far as we are aware, all the District Health Boards have now made payments to our members. However, if you have any questions or concerns, please get in touch with us.

Psychologists - Delegates:

Name Location Employer
Maria Sampson Auckland Auckland
Oloff Arnold Whakatane Bay Of Plenty
Annmaree Kingi (Interim President) Christchurch Canterbury
Linda Setshedi Counties Manukau Counties Manukau
Jeanique Willemse Nelson Nelson / Marlborough
Julia Chrisp Hutt (Hutt Valley) Capital & Coast and Hutt
Amber Barry (Interim Secretary) Palmerston North Midcentral
Nicole Skipper Napier Ministry of Education
Carmen O’Meeghan Tauranga Ministry of Education (Tauranga)
James Morgan Porirua Ministry of Education
Stacey Stuart Hamilton Ministry of Education
Heather Smyth Whangarei Ministry of Education
Siaan Rodger Whangarei Northland
Simon Waigth Whangerei Northland
Chris Murray Waitemata Waitemata
Emma Edwards Waitemata Waitemata
Missy Wolfman Marinoto North Waitemata
Shelley O’Sullivan Taranaki Ministry of Education
Raewyn Barry Hastings Hawke's Bay
Simon Goss Burwood Canterbury
Wendy Tyghe Gisborne (Tairawhiti) Tairawhiti
Andrea Greenwood Middlemore Counties Manukau
Chloe Matheson Christchurch Canterbury
Leslie Badenoch Whanganui Whanganui
Bridget Young Capital and Coast Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services
Anneke Thornton New Plymouth Taranaki
Jeffrey Olrick Rural South Waikato
Kayla Mackie Waikato Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services
Oliver Kitto Manukau Counties Manukau
Allison Hewitt Kenepuru Capital & Coast
Kirsty Wilson Kenepuru Capital & Coast
Shekinah Manning-Jones New Plymouth Taranaki
Rikki Thompson Christchurch Canterbury
Erika Lamb Hamilton Ministry of Education
Rhiannon Webb Hamilton Ministry of Education
Melanie Govender Mount Eden Ministry of Education
Valerie Bridge Porirua Ministry of Education
Clare Barczak Albany Ministry of Education
Erin Helliwell Canterbury Canterbury
Jessie Gwynne Canterbury Canterbury
Luci Falconer Auckland Auckland
Phillipa Reihana South Canterbury South Canterbury
Sarah Williams Auckland Oranga Tamariki

Contact APEX